THE PHARMACIST’S ROLE IN QUALITY IMPROVEMENT 4 9. Relevant experience gained in any retail area involving contact with customers or the general public can be beneficial. Typical employers | Qualifications and training | Key skills. Reply to this topic; Start new topic; Recommended Posts. Let me say first, I am not a high-powered 'clinical pharmacist' -- my first years in hospital were pretty much in the basement processing orders and doing a lot of troubleshooting by phone. Ask a Pharmacist; If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. The hospital pharmacist see the the patient in an acute or unstable condition and helps that patient to re- gain a stable condition; as a community pharmacist I help to maintain that stablility and to prevent the patient going back to hospital, thus we apply the knowledge differently because the focus is different. Recently Paul Tran PharmD did a great video covering this. The median salary for a hospital pharmacist is relatively higher than that of a retail pharmacist, being that it is approximately $116, 895 a year. Why work in a hospital vs retail? One of the more frequent questions I get when talking with pharmacy students or even more seasoned pharmacists is the question about working retail vs. hospital. While many people are familiar with the role that pharmacists play in retail outlets, pharmacists are also hired in clinical settings where they assist physicians in writing prescriptions, administer medications and work in hospital pharmacies. I did work in a retail pharmacy for less than a year. Employment in these settings declined by 5,320 pharmacists in 2018, and by a further 2,800 in 2019. Taking into consideration longevity of being in a position, geographical considerations and the nature … Pharmacists already manage and drive change within the medication management system, often for quality of care and/or cost reasons, and are, therefore, accustomed to and often comfortable with,